Exoticca

All reviews

Exoticca

29% Would buy here again

Reviews, complaints & experiences Write a review

Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!

Spotlight: What are our customers saying?

E
El
Best week of my life. I admit, I speak French, but I was in pure Heaven. The bus was pleasant with extremely nice drivers (Hanna and Bernard for the most part). Very friendly and accommodating. ...Read on
M
Marissa Borsetto
My mother, daughter and I booked a trip with Exoticca to Portugal at the end of May and it was fabulous. The customer service Dept. always answered promptly and were very helpful. My mother and I ...Read on
A
Aaron
Great services ,no new experience for last one and half years but I have rendered this service on the eve of Holi festival in India This trip was booked two months back so this way I could save fe...Read on
W
Werner Stahl
My wife and I booked a month long trip with Exoticca during November 2022. Counties included Brazil, Ecuador, Argentina and Peru. Organized travels were very nice and hotels advertised were good as...Read on
C
Carolyn
Stay clear of this company. They lure you into when you book of one set of hotels which are good hotels and then at the last minute switch 100% of them to entirely different hotels which are terri...Read on

All reviews (24)

  • No reviews yet!

    Find companies you have experience with and write reviews about them! Your reviews contribute to a more transparent market and improve the reliability of companies.

  • Ordering

    Service

    Pricing

    Delivery

    Would buy here again
    Overall

    9 days in France

    Best week of my life. I admit, I speak French, but I was in pure Heaven. The bus was pleasant with extremely nice drivers (Hanna and Bernard for the most part). Very friendly and accommodating. When some of the group wanted to get back to Paris earlier than the itinerary showed, we put that out and voted on it. Driver was happy to oblige. They did all the legwork procuring tickets and entries to museums and sites, explaining history (Essedine) in Normandy, and other locations. They all spoke English and were light-hearted and fun to be around.

    The hotels varied. Some had ... rooms than others, but I slept well in all of them, the staff were friendly and also accommodating. Perhaps speaking the language helped.

    The driver sent by Exoticca to pick us up at the airport was fabulous. I contacted him later on to see if he could take us to a place I wanted to see
    for dinner on our last night, and asked him to invite his wife. We had a fantastic meal and the next day he showed up with homemade sandwiches, including GF for my daughter. I could go on and on. I didn't want to leave.

    WE HAD A GREAT TIME AND WOULD DO IT AGAIN. Merci la France! J'ai passe la meilleure semaine de ma vie.

    Thank you.


  • Ordering

    Service

    Pricing

    Delivery

    Would buy here again
    Overall

    Tour of Portugal late May Early June

    My mother, daughter and I booked a trip with Exoticca to Portugal at the end of May and it was fabulous. The customer service Dept. always answered promptly and were very helpful. My mother and I were coming from the United States and my daughter was coming from Amsterdam and the travel went so smoothly. Our guide Andre was wonderful. He was a history buff and we learned so much about this beautiful country. We had quite a big group with all different ages and i think he did a great job managing all the different needs of everyone. Everyday was so eventful and we saw so much of Portugal. I would recommend this travel company to everyone. The hotels and food were great and the CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS FANTASTIC. ***** The only thing i would advise is if you are older it might be too much activity for you. Lots of walking and long days. I enjoyed it but i know my mother who is in her 70s was a little exhausted by the end of the day. Overall my 22 year old daughter and I had no problems. It was a lovely trip.


  • Ordering

    Service

    Pricing

    Delivery

    Would buy here again
    Overall

    A trusted Company

    Great services ,no new experience for last one and half years but I have rendered this service on the eve of Holi festival in India This trip was booked two months back so this way I could save few dollars My team was of four (all family members)
    This is not easy to choose a right agency as thousands of companies doing same job all over the United States Took two weeks to select a right company to avoid any last minute disappoint
    Exoticca was not in our list I contacted our Indian counterparts and they suggest this name And this was a great advise indeed Pricing cooperation behavior and above then all easy booking process
    No if and but ,simple booking Great trip.


  • Ordering

    Service

    Pricing

    Delivery

    Would buy here again
    Overall

    28 day trip throughout South America

    My wife and I booked a month long trip with Exoticca during November 2022. Counties included Brazil, Ecuador, Argentina and Peru. Organized travels were very nice and hotels advertised were good as well. Realties not advertised include that all these countries are quite dangerous so guides are needed and travel should be restricted to day light hours with guides. Politics are also problematic as frequent strikes, demonstrations complicate travel, itineraries, etc. Travellers to these countries should also know the English is rarely spoken, even in international airports so disruptions like the aforementioned become very problematic. Travellers should also be aware that Exoticca promises 24/7 support but this is NOT true. We had situations that required Exoticca support several times but they were not available to help. "talk" is usually a chat of just texts even when the Agent is available which can take hours i.e. when guides do not meet you at airports as promised. Exoticca also left me with the impression that all of our travel would be with a group but this was not true.


  • Ordering

    Service

    Pricing

    Delivery

    Would buy here again
    Overall

    Greece

    Stay clear of this company. They lure you into when you book of one set of hotels which are good hotels and then at the last minute switch 100% of them to entirely different hotels which are terrible. No amenities, cold breakfasts if you ever reach the breakfast buffet, long lines (30 or 40 people ahead of you in line and by the time you get there food is gone), prostitutes on the street corners at the Evita Asty in Athens. Use a USA based tour company where you have recourse if something goes wrong and not one that has zero customer service and located in Spain. You basically are ....


  • Ordering

    Service

    Pricing

    Delivery

    Would buy here again
    Overall

    Greece 109

    I will never use this company again
    1) Was told tours were 25 people. There were 40-50 people on each bus
    2) Poor communication: at only one hotel did the concierge have any idea when and where we were to be picked up
    3) First hotel, Evita Asti, was in a terrible part of Athens. Unsafe to walk around.
    4) Boat tour cancelled due to weather. Learned this from bus driver. No substitute excursion was offered.
    5) Terrible flight itinerary home. 1.5 hours in Newark to go through customs and immigration. I repeatedly tried to tell customer service that it was too short but was informed that "computer models say it's plenty of time". The computer hasn't been to EWR...I have. We were seated in the very back of the plane and the only chance we could make the connection was to move up. No seats available so had to upgrade to Business Class for $450. STILL barely made the flight as the doors were closing. Our luggage didn't make it.
    6) I cleaned my house while waiting for a representative on the phone. Hold music extremely annoying

    I just made the same mistake. Stayed in the Evita "N"Asty. AWFUL. We had a riot in front of the hotel with gun fire and tear gas. Prostitutes on the street corners within 1/2 block of hotel. We booked the Athens Central at the time of booking. 100%l of the hotels were changed to ... hotels. NO WAY would I use them again. They offered a $500 wallet credit if I would take another trip. Are they out of their ever-loving mind. That is like pouring gasoline on a fire. Spend more $$$$ with them. Do I have sucker painted across my forehead.


  • Ordering

    Service

    Pricing

    Delivery

    Would buy here again
    Overall

    tour

    Do not book a trip with this company. My friend and I booked a guided tour to Turkey. During one of our domestic flights that they got for us, our driver was not at the airport. We waited for an hour before calling. They then sent a driver to pick us up and take to our hotel. When calling to complain, they first tried to lie and say that our driver was waiting for us the entire time. Then they said, that they sent a driver as soon as we called and why did we wait so long to call. They never apologized or offered an explanation as to why our driver wasn't there at the airport. We asked to reschedule our hot air balloon experience to the following day since we only had 2 hours before they were to pick us up and we were sleep deprived. They refused to accommodate our request. On the way home, they booked a connecting flight too close together and we missed our flight through no fault of ours. They refused to reimburse us for our night at the hotel and the airline ticket for the next day.


  • Ordering

    Service

    Pricing

    Delivery

    Would buy here again
    Overall

    Exoticca Travel to Ireland

    I have been an avid traveler for a number of years, using multiple touring companies and I must say, this was the poorest planned trip by a touring company, I have ever been on. From the moment I paid the initial deposit, right until the end, I should have taken my money back and ran. Trying to get in touch with anyone was nearly impossible, with telephone waits being up to an hour and a half at times, just to be told I would have to call back at another time because the person I needed to talk to was not in. My multiple emails (with my booking #), and all went unanswered, despite review responses saying, "someone was trying to get in touch with me, " or " they could not locate my booking number." Our trip to Ireland consisted of unprofessional, hungover tour guides, one leaving us stranded after tour was complete. They double brokerage most services, leaving no one to take accountability for poorly planned activities, or added costs associated with portions of our travel (ie. taxi costs to get to meeting spots). This was one trip I was thankful to be over.


  • Ordering

    Service

    Pricing

    Delivery

    Would buy here again
    Overall

    9 day Tour of Switzerland

    NEVER will use this company again. Extremely difficult and unresponsive customer service. They split up our party of travelers on different flights even though we had to travel 2 hours to get to departure airport causing 10 hour difference in arrival and spoiled 1st day. Refused to change it. Itinerary touted 9 days & 8 nights. Kept getting changed and downsized - especially on front and back ends to accommodate their non-changeable flight purchases. Pick up at airport wasn't there as promised. Extremely poor info on what to do / where to go on day one. Handoff to local travel guides very poor. Local guides may or may not be good - ours was just OK. Refused to refund one of our travelers who got covid at the last minute and sacrificed to protect others (be sure to get a lab test. Home tests not accepted!). This is a travel consolidator - not a company that will help you in any way.


  • Ordering

    Service

    Pricing

    Delivery

    Would buy here again
    Overall

    Peru 8 days

    Overall, prior to the trip there is no customer service, and once you actually reach the "service" department on the phone after hours on hold, the rep can't actually make a decision or connect you to someone who can.

    The flight scheduling is the worst I have experienced. The 8 day trip turned into a 6 day trip because of the flights. I receive my flight information roughly 10 weeks before departure and immediately contacted Exoticca every week for 8 weeks before someone would attempt to correct the flights. It was impossible to change because now it was only 2 weeks before departure, and I would have been charged an additional $700 for more reasonable flights, and a full loss if I cancelled the trip.

    Specifically I was scheduled :
    Day 1: Arrival at 1am...realistically arriving at the hotel at 3am. City tour at 9am (Per the itinerary published I should have arrived the day before
    9/25: Advertised as "depart for your international flight" and 9/26 Arrive back in US
    Scheduled : 9/25 flight departure at 1am, leaving hotel at 10PM 9/24 with Arrival in US on 9/25. This eliminated an entire day and also I would have paid for a hotel room that I couldn't use.

    I wound up booking my own flights, at my own expense. Exoticca basically did not make any offer to compensate me for this LARGE inconvenience. When I could actually talk to a person in "customer service" i was treated poorly and then to be asked to pay more money for less time was mind blowing.

    During the tour, the communication was confusing, and I was never provided an itinerary with pick up times from the hotel. Some of the people on the tour were provided itineraries with not times. Our last Tour in Cusco was changed from 2pm to noon, and the only communication was a piece of paper taped to a window by the breakfast area.

    Additionally the last hotel, Irrizarri in Cusco was below standard, I was given a room next to the kitchen which was so noisy you couldn't sleep, and also had no cell phone service...not internet, but service. The following day, there was no water in the hotel at all.

    Overall, the tour wasn't all that bad, but customer service and the flight departments need to be totally retrained or overhauled. The worst experience I have ever had.


Others also viewed

Travelzoo brand logo for reviews of travel and holiday experiences

Travelzoo

2 reviews

Best travel packages are at your fingertips now! It is a wonderful thing to travel at least once in a while and skip monotony. When it comes to tra...

Undercover Tourist brand logo for reviews of travel and holiday experiences

Undercover Tourist

1 reviews

Are your kids begging you to take them to Disneyland, Universal Studios or SeaWorld? Such theme parks can offer an amazing experience to you and yo...

Bookit.com brand logo for reviews of online shopping for Cheap Vacations products

Bookit.com

1 reviews

BookIt is an online travel company devoted to providing the best online experience full of information, guides and travel tips. As they are a web-b...

AirfareWatchdog brand logo for reviews of travel and holiday experiences

AirfareWatchdog

1 reviews

Are you having trouble with expensive airfares? Are you facing the difficulties of over luggage and last minute unpacking at the airport? If so the...