US-Reviews

    Reviews Trainz.com

    Let’s face it: model trains are not just kids' toys, as there are serious train hobbyists out there. Their participation ranges from ownership of a single train set to spending hours upon hours and large sums and demanding model of a railroad and the set through which it passes called a layout. These hobbyists, also known as railway modelers or model railroaders might uphold models big enough to ride on. Modelers might assemble model trains, constructing a landscape for the trains to pass. One such place to consider visiting for the best experience in a model train is Trainz.com. It is, therefore, highly suggested you consider reading honest reviews about Trainz.com here before investing in any of their products and services.

    About Trainz.com

    Trainz.com was created in 1975 by Scott who started his first model train business in his parents’ garage. For the past 44 years, the business has exploded into manifold warehouses flooding with model trains. Trainz.com is an on-line retailer of model trains that uses technology expansively to offer an unsurpassed assortment of historic collectible and new model trains coupled with greater customer service to its clients. Just like most other companies in her category, Trainz.com operates her business with honesty and are continually working to improve. And for the past 15 years, the company have sold hundreds of thousands of items through her website.

    New To Model Trains Beginner's Guide from TRAINZ.COM

    Specialties of Trainz.com

    Trainz.com specializes in different areas including model trains, diecast, and promo cards, and other collectibles.

    Complaints and feedback on Trainz.com

    Please do not hesitate to leave independent reviews about Trainz.com here, if you have invested in any of their products and services.

    Trainz.com
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (268)

    9.6
    100% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    9.8
    Service
    rating
    9.8
    Pricing
    rating
    9.6
    Delivery
    rating
    9.4

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!

    N scale train set

    Excellent service and product.

    By: Mark K25-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Walthers 932-6121 HO Amtrak Superliner II Lounge - Painted Silver

    Car is great in great shape but FedEx is absolutely terrible. My package bounced around St Louis (30 mins from where I live) for SEVEN days. It kept going from one facility to the next then to Alton (where I live) then back to St Louis and Earth City (suburb of St Louis). Every time I called FedEx (4 times) they said I should call USPS (because it was to be handed off to them for final delivery) but the 2 times I called USPS they said there was nothing they could do because they did not have possession of the item (I understand and agree). There is no reason I should have to call that many times and deal with that frustration. EVERY time they blamed covid19 but there is no excuse for the package bouncing around from one of their facilities to the next....that's NOT due to the virus that's due to their failure as a company. I have worked in shipping and receiving for almost 20 years and see the same type of failures from them on a regular basis. I rarely have issues with UPS and occasionally with USPS but FedEx would prevent me from buying from you again. I have not left feedback yet as I wanted to cool off first. If I could choose no stars on delivery I would.

    By: morgan roberts04-05-2020
    Ernest Billiot10-08-2020

    I had a gr8 experience with Trainz. But I also fully understand about the FedEx shipping mishap. I too, have had issues with them too. You could clearly see, it was a total mishandling of package. It hurts the sellers.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    8
    rating

    Lionel parts

    Trainz parts service has been excellent lately. I had some issues (wrong items, missing) several years back. Tried buying again and in the last couple of years, service has improved greatly. Personal responses from service people is exceptional...quick to credit on damaged items (happens rarely). More importantly I get credit for excess shipping costs.

    That's one needed improvement-to set up shipping charges that increment minimally for the small parts being ordered. E.G. $5 for first item, $0.50 for each subsequent part, subject to weight obviously. I'd rather pay close to the true charges than wait and receive credit for an overcharge (which they do reliably,, however)

    By: David H01-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9.5
    rating

    Arnold N Conrail Custom GG1

    Netural.

    Shipping and receiving was perfect.

    Product exterior in near perfect shape, who ever customized this GG1 did a fantastic job.

    Had to modify the pickup with wire and soldering as the loco was starting and stoping on cleanned unitrack.

    Then after that, one of the traction tires split in half and fell off and it will not pull just about anything without it.

    I have no idea where you find more, or how to replace them, so ATM its an $80 paperweight on my desk.

    This is on me not Trainz.com, I knew what i was getting into buying older locomotives.

    By: Theophilus 15-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9
    rating

    SPEAR/LIONEL Loud phonograph needles

    Was glad to find these steel needles as the Lionel brand are larger than the "loud" versions found elsewhere on-line. Because they are a little bigger- they produce a better tone overall. The service was fast and very friendly. I also purchased several of the acoustic phonograph reproducers ( sound-heads ) made by Lionel that are very difficult to find. Thanks for having those available and all at a reasonable price. You could not ask for a better group of people to do business with!

    By: T. Kelch25-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Very Good

    Trying to locate a Motor & Gearbox assy 8350-100. Alt number I heard is 8670-100

    By: Girard25-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    446

    every thing went supper

    By: Jason Wall25-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Lionel circus train

    So my train was suppose to be a Lionel Circus train in Like New Condition which it was not. I did receive a 33% credit. However the Lionel boxes were miss labeled. This turned out to be a custom paint job of Lionel rolling stock. There should have been more research done on this product. Also 3 of 5 cars were broken and I cannot find the for the Lionel 6511-2 flatbed cars that were made by Lionel in ST Clemens MI. I do feel positive that I have a custom circus train.

    By: John Cramer29-04-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8.5
    rating

    Lionel Scale O Miiler Reefer 9802 and Wabash Gon 9820

    Both cars arrived in a reasonable time, well packed and shipping damage free. Gondola arrived as advertised with out a coal load. How ever it does have a broken coupler (rubber band around it to keep it closed). This defect is not a deal breaker as the car over all is very nice.
    I just wish this had been disclosed in the description or if it was it was more pronounced as I missed it. Again, over all very satisfied and will continue to shop at Trainz.com

    By: Kenneth Jackson21-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    3 PSC coaches

    Positive except for your choice of shipping. FedEx flat out sucks! It sat in Brazelton for 4 days, then it sat again a couple more times. Instead of the usual 7 days, it took 15 days. I just bought something from a vendor in WA State and it was supposed to be here on the 11th, and has sat in Roseville, CA 15-20 minutes away since the 10th with no delivery planned as of yet. I would change shipping companies as the mail continues to be delivered, but not FedEx!

    By: Robert Watson15-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8
    rating

    Bugs Bunny and Donald Duck pump car

    I am writing this review on behalf of my 2 year old granddaughter. I gave her the Bugs Bunny and Donald Duck pump car as a present, and I think she understands it is hers, and not grandpa's trains. The pump car as in good shape and worked perfectly. For the last year she has watched it running on the track for a few minutes, and then picks it up and puts it on a table and just admires it. If purchases we rated in smiles per dollar, that won the award.

    By: John21-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    ho scale exxon tank car

    Product as described, excellent packing, Fast shipping. Buy from Trainz!

    By: Ed John25-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Italeri 6568 1:35 US WWII M4A1 Sherman with U.S. Infantry

    Good transaction. Quick delivery.

    By: Ed Taylor24-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    G gauge knuckle coupler

    Very positive experience. Will definitely use TRAINZ for future needs.,

    By: Russell D Morrison24-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    10
    rating

    Lionel 818-5003-120 Motor Brush and Spring

    I wasn't careful when disassembling a Lionel Large Scale 0-6-0 and the spring and brush went flying, never to be found again. Trainz rescued with me with the correct part. The only real annoyance was shelling out $5 for shipping for a $2 part.

    By: Joe24-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9
    rating

    MTh 20-94008

    Well I wud like to say I,m enjoying the reefer HOWEVER due to the current SITUATION the car is resting safely in Massena NY. So when the border opens I,ll be able to retrieve my purchase.
    As an aside I knew there was a package I couldn,t remember what it was..Thanks for the kickstart !

    Cheers

    By: Sidney Selver24-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    20" Bobblehead

    I have pur gazed several things from this seller. Always great. I follow his sales and always looking to add to my collection. Definitely a trustworthy seller.

    By: Sorndobbler24-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Micro Trains P.F.E. Reefer

    Your description was right on shipping a little on the High Side but I got what I wanted in Great Condition. Thank You

    By: Rick Hatcher24-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    9
    rating

    Atlas 054 turnout

    Excellent

    By: Stanley Ross24-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9
    rating

    Lionel and G&R Wrenn HO/OO Steam Locomotives: #4449 and #46246 [2]

    I was looking for the Wrenn City of Manchester so this was a GREAT purchase. Excellent transaction

    By: Peter D Culshaw24-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Lionel 022 switches (8 switches)

    I have bought many times from Trainz.com, and am very satisfied with my purchases. In fact, I've started looking for buys at the Trainz website first before the auction sites, because it's easier to find what I want and I know what I'm going to get

    By: Ken24-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Write your own review about Trainz.com

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Trainz.com a trustworthy company?

    There is currently one customer review posted about Trainz.com. On average, they received a star-grading of 9.6/10, with 100% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Trainz.com offer?

    Trainz.com is mainly active in the Online Shop category, more specifically with Children & Baby, Sport & Outdoor.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Trainz.com website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!"