;Trainz.com » Customer reviews and experiences 2021
USReviews

    Reviews Trainz.com

    Let’s face it: model trains are not just kids' toys, as there are serious train hobbyists out there. Their participation ranges from ownership of a single train set to spending hours upon hours and large sums and demanding model of a railroad and the set through which it passes called a layout. These hobbyists, also known as railway modelers or model railroaders might uphold models big enough to ride on. Modelers might assemble model trains, constructing a landscape for the trains to pass. One such place to consider visiting for the best experience in a model train is Trainz.com. It is, therefore, highly suggested you consider reading honest reviews about Trainz.com here before investing in any of their products and services.

    About Trainz.com

    Trainz.com was created in 1975 by Scott who started his first model train business in his parents’ garage. For the past 44 years, the business has exploded into manifold warehouses flooding with model trains. Trainz.com is an on-line retailer of model trains that uses technology expansively to offer an unsurpassed assortment of historic collectible and new model trains coupled with greater customer service to its clients. Just like most other companies in her category, Trainz.com operates her business with honesty and are continually working to improve. And for the past 15 years, the company have sold hundreds of thousands of items through her website.

    New To Model Trains Beginner's Guide from TRAINZ.COM

    Specialties of Trainz.com

    Trainz.com specializes in different areas including model trains, diecast, and promo cards, and other collectibles.

    Complaints and feedback on Trainz.com

    Please do not hesitate to leave independent reviews about Trainz.com here, if you have invested in any of their products and services.

    Trainz.com
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (297)

    9.6
    94% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    9.8
    Service
    rating
    9.8
    Pricing
    rating
    9.6
    Delivery
    rating
    9.4

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!

    Walthers 932-6121 HO Amtrak Superliner II Lounge - Painted Silver

    Car is great in great shape but FedEx is absolutely terrible. My package bounced around St Louis (30 mins from where I live) for SEVEN days. It kept going from one facility to the next then to Alton (where I live) then back to St Louis and Earth City (suburb of St Louis). Every time I called FedEx (4 times) they said I should call USPS (because it was to be handed off to them for final delivery) but the 2 times I called USPS they said there was nothing they could do because they did not have possession of the item (I understand and agree). There is no reason I should have to call that many times and deal with that frustration. EVERY time they blamed covid19 but there is no excuse for the package bouncing around from one of their facilities to the next....that's NOT due to the virus that's due to their failure as a company. I have worked in shipping and receiving for almost 20 years and see the same type of failures from them on a regular basis. I rarely have issues with UPS and occasionally with USPS but FedEx would prevent me from buying from you again. I have not left feedback yet as I wanted to cool off first. If I could choose no stars on delivery I would.

    By: morgan roberts04-05-2020
    Ernest Billiot10-08-2020

    I had a gr8 experience with Trainz. But I also fully understand about the FedEx shipping mishap. I too, have had issues with them too. You could clearly see, it was a total mishandling of package. It hurts the sellers.

    Patrick14-12-2020

    FedEx has left many people upset. My order was by UPS and perfect

    cialis generic cialis17-02-2021

    cialis 10mg

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    8
    rating

    Lionel parts

    Trainz parts service has been excellent lately. I had some issues (wrong items, missing) several years back. Tried buying again and in the last couple of years, service has improved greatly. Personal responses from service people is exceptional...quick to credit on damaged items (happens rarely). More importantly I get credit for excess shipping costs.

    That's one needed improvement-to set up shipping charges that increment minimally for the small parts being ordered. E.G. $5 for first item, $0.50 for each subsequent part, subject to weight obviously. I'd rather pay close to the true charges than wait and receive credit for an overcharge (which they do reliably,, however)

    By: David H01-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9.5
    rating

    Atlas RS-1 Santa Fe and Lionel U-18B Rio Grande

    The Atlas RS-1 was delivered without any damage. Unfortunately, the Lionel U-18B was damaged on delivery and the rear power truck was damaged. Packaging for the U-18B was damaged and could not contain the locomotive for shipping. Packaging appeared to be very old. Locomotive shell was undamaged and I was able to repower unit with another power chassis(This was the plan all along.) . Since they don't produce this model anymore, I was still satisfied with my purchase. Trainz.com did a good job of shipping both locomotives and the main package was not damaged. I would shop Trainz.com again without any reservations. I have received good service from Trainz.com with prior orders.

    By: Roy D Foster30-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9
    rating

    IHC 2059 HO Crane with Lumber Yard Building Kit

    The Lumber Yard Building Kit fit well into my layout, which is based on an integrated pulp and paper mill, chemical plant, and combination logyard/sawmill at the largest paper mill owned and operated by Georgia-Pacific (GP) in the United States. I worked in the Environmental Engineering Dept. at GP's corporate headquarters in Atlanta GA for 25 years before I retired in June 2019. This kit was the only one I could find that had a stacker log crane, just like the ones used at GP's integrated paper mills throughput the US. I have pictures of the layout if anyone is interested in seeing them. Send a request for the pictures to my e-mail address above.

    By: Wayne J. Galler26-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Sold a collection

    I cannot thank everyone I came in contact with at Trainz enough. My husband died and I had no idea where to begin. Instead of driving myself crazy on ebay, I found Trainz. They came to my house, evaluated my collection, made me a great offer, came to my house and picked up everything. It was a huge help to me. They receive five stars from me.

    By: J Carhart25-02-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Two batteries

    How can I enjoy your product if it took 10 plus days to get it shipped. I think your email for review might have been a little premature. Order went in on the 22nd of December. It is not due for delivery until January 11th. Seems a little long but once I receive the product I will update my review.

    By: Michael C Garber08-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    6.5
    rating

    Arnold N Conrail Custom GG1

    Netural.

    Shipping and receiving was perfect.

    Product exterior in near perfect shape, who ever customized this GG1 did a fantastic job.

    Had to modify the pickup with wire and soldering as the loco was starting and stoping on cleanned unitrack.

    Then after that, one of the traction tires split in half and fell off and it will not pull just about anything without it.

    I have no idea where you find more, or how to replace them, so ATM its an $80 paperweight on my desk.

    This is on me not Trainz.com, I knew what i was getting into buying older locomotives.

    By: Theophilus 15-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9
    rating

    Bachmann 84014 HO Pennsylvania K4 4-6-2 Pacific Locomotive & Tender #1361

    This is my first purchase from Trainz and will not be my last.

    I needed assistance with selecting a Steam Locomotive with more power to pull the cars I have up an incline that I had made with my setup.
    I had a budget and was assisted over the phone by Marvin in selecting excatly what I wanted and in my budget.
    Train arrived put it on the track and it runs great.

    Price for shipping is high and I'm charged a state sales tax and a town tax for my purchase. This added a bit more than I had expected. Not your issue on the taxes.

    Thank you,
    Kevin
    Thank you,

    By: Kevin30-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9.5
    rating

    springs for giraffe car

    During the COVID shutdown I was cleaning out the basement and came across my old train set from the 1950's -1960's. Well, to make a long story short I now a rookie model railroader. I loved the giraffe car but it needed repair. The only thing I could not fix was the springs. I was so happy you had them. After a longer time then expected they arrived. This was do to the COVID issues with the postal service not Trainz. I was able to show my grandkids a working giraffe car this Christmas Eve. Now one of my locomotives is need of some repairs and I hope Trainz has the parts.

    By: Dennis25-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    SPEAR/LIONEL Loud phonograph needles

    Was glad to find these steel needles as the Lionel brand are larger than the "loud" versions found elsewhere on-line. Because they are a little bigger- they produce a better tone overall. The service was fast and very friendly. I also purchased several of the acoustic phonograph reproducers ( sound-heads ) made by Lionel that are very difficult to find. Thanks for having those available and all at a reasonable price. You could not ask for a better group of people to do business with!

    By: T. Kelch25-11-2020
    Abigail08-01-2021

    Love all 3 Christmas cars with lighted Scene. They looked awesome going around and around under the Christmas tree 🌲.... Children had a wonderful time watching it for hours!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Lionel Passenger cars.

    Looks like new!!!

    By: GERALD KASPER08-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Liberty Classic 18512 1:34 Diecast Mr.Monopoly 1928 Chevrolet

    As one would expect

    By: Michael DeNude07-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9.5
    rating

    Kato N-Gauge 10 car PRR passenger set; Kato N Gauge PRR engine and N Gauge lumber set.

    Products are very nice but shipping/delivery very unsatisfactory. I was expecting one shipment but purchase arrived in three shipments spread over two weeks. FedEx left items exposed in my driveway subject to theft despite instructions to place at front door (200 ft. away). Unless Trainz offers delivery options other than FedEx, I'll pass on future purchases.

    By: Paul J Hiryak04-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    7
    rating

    Very happy

    I recently ordered the Marklin 8885 Z Scale DB 4-6-2 Steam Locomotive & Tender, understanding it was used unit given the extraordinary price.
    I had been eyeballing this loco for weeks and finally pulled the trigger. It may be used, but no one would know. It is very clean and in great shape, and it runs really well. It came in it's original box. I'll use it from time to time to keep it broken in, but it's definitely a collector item.

    By: Scott M Jackson04-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Thrust bearings.

    Came in a well padded envelope.

    By: Phillip Fried03-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Midwest Products 3016 O 3/16" x 2-5/8" x 36" Cork Roadbed

    Stuff looks great. I'm using it on S-Scale track so I've trimmed the edges slightly.

    By: Bruce Meyers02-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Track clips

    Overall positive rating. I'm novice at model trains. Since retiring I've proceeded to refurbish the O Gauge set I had as a child. Found the site offers a lot of what I anticipate I will need to get it up and running.

    By: Tom Connelly01-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9.5
    rating

    USA Trains Intermodal Container

    Everything went well!

    By: John D Chacko01-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    draw-bar and coupler

    It was a nice solid piece but did not fit.It is hard to find the right one from pictures. You all did a good job on shipping and on your part.

    By: Loyd Davis27-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9.5
    rating

    great delivery

    used track was in good condition. very good purchase timely delivery

    By: Richard Bewie27-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Write your own review about Trainz.com

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Trainz.com a trustworthy company?

    There is currently one customer review posted about Trainz.com. On average, they received a star-grading of 9.6/10, with 94% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Trainz.com offer?

    Trainz.com is mainly active in the Online Shop category, more specifically with Children & Baby, Sport & Outdoor.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Trainz.com website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!"