US-Reviews

    Reviews Trainz.com

    Let’s face it: model trains are not just kids' toys, as there are serious train hobbyists out there. Their participation ranges from ownership of a single train set to spending hours upon hours and large sums and demanding model of a railroad and the set through which it passes called a layout. These hobbyists, also known as railway modelers or model railroaders might uphold models big enough to ride on. Modelers might assemble model trains, constructing a landscape for the trains to pass. One such place to consider visiting for the best experience in a model train is Trainz.com. It is, therefore, highly suggested you consider reading honest reviews about Trainz.com here before investing in any of their products and services.

    About Trainz.com

    Trainz.com was created in 1975 by Scott who started his first model train business in his parents’ garage. For the past 44 years, the business has exploded into manifold warehouses flooding with model trains. Trainz.com is an on-line retailer of model trains that uses technology expansively to offer an unsurpassed assortment of historic collectible and new model trains coupled with greater customer service to its clients. Just like most other companies in her category, Trainz.com operates her business with honesty and are continually working to improve. And for the past 15 years, the company have sold hundreds of thousands of items through her website.

    New To Model Trains Beginner's Guide from TRAINZ.COM

    Specialties of Trainz.com

    Trainz.com specializes in different areas including model trains, diecast, and promo cards, and other collectibles.

    Complaints and feedback on Trainz.com

    Please do not hesitate to leave independent reviews about Trainz.com here, if you have invested in any of their products and services.

    Trainz.com
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (166)

    9.6
    93% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    9.8
    Service
    rating
    9.6
    Pricing
    rating
    9.6
    Delivery
    rating
    9.4

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!

    Walthers 932-6121 HO Amtrak Superliner II Lounge - Painted Silver

    Car is great in great shape but FedEx is absolutely terrible. My package bounced around St Louis (30 mins from where I live) for SEVEN days. It kept going from one facility to the next then to Alton (where I live) then back to St Louis and Earth City (suburb of St Louis). Every time I called FedEx (4 times) they said I should call USPS (because it was to be handed off to them for final delivery) but the 2 times I called USPS they said there was nothing they could do because they did not have possession of the item (I understand and agree). There is no reason I should have to call that many times and deal with that frustration. EVERY time they blamed covid19 but there is no excuse for the package bouncing around from one of their facilities to the next....that's NOT due to the virus that's due to their failure as a company. I have worked in shipping and receiving for almost 20 years and see the same type of failures from them on a regular basis. I rarely have issues with UPS and occasionally with USPS but FedEx would prevent me from buying from you again. I have not left feedback yet as I wanted to cool off first. If I could choose no stars on delivery I would.

    By: morgan roberts04-05-2020
    Ernest Billiot10-08-2020

    I had a gr8 experience with Trainz. But I also fully understand about the FedEx shipping mishap. I too, have had issues with them too. You could clearly see, it was a total mishandling of package. It hurts the sellers.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    8
    rating

    Lionel parts

    Trainz parts service has been excellent lately. I had some issues (wrong items, missing) several years back. Tried buying again and in the last couple of years, service has improved greatly. Personal responses from service people is exceptional...quick to credit on damaged items (happens rarely). More importantly I get credit for excess shipping costs.

    That's one needed improvement-to set up shipping charges that increment minimally for the small parts being ordered. E.G. $5 for first item, $0.50 for each subsequent part, subject to weight obviously. I'd rather pay close to the true charges than wait and receive credit for an overcharge (which they do reliably,, however)

    By: David H01-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9.5
    rating

    Lionel circus train

    So my train was suppose to be a Lionel Circus train in Like New Condition which it was not. I did receive a 33% credit. However the Lionel boxes were miss labeled. This turned out to be a custom paint job of Lionel rolling stock. There should have been more research done on this product. Also 3 of 5 cars were broken and I cannot find the for the Lionel 6511-2 flatbed cars that were made by Lionel in ST Clemens MI. I do feel positive that I have a custom circus train.

    By: John Cramer29-04-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8.5
    rating

    Lionel Scale O Miiler Reefer 9802 and Wabash Gon 9820

    Both cars arrived in a reasonable time, well packed and shipping damage free. Gondola arrived as advertised with out a coal load. How ever it does have a broken coupler (rubber band around it to keep it closed). This defect is not a deal breaker as the car over all is very nice.
    I just wish this had been disclosed in the description or if it was it was more pronounced as I missed it. Again, over all very satisfied and will continue to shop at Trainz.com

    By: Kenneth Jackson21-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    C&O B Unit

    Always a great experience as you are my favorite EBayer!!

    By: Victor Giuffre'13-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    MTH Seaboard 2 passenger cars

    Good pricing packaged well fast shipping

    By: Jim10-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    MTH 30-1144-1 Southern Pacific 2-8-8-4 Cab Forward Steam Locomotive & Tender PS1

    This cab forward steam locomotive is awesome and is good shape for a 21 year old engine & tender. As I have started to expand my collection, I was looking for something different and this engine fits the bill. It runs well, came in the original box & inside packing, and delivery was very quick. My only criticism would be that there was no user guide included. Fortunately, other engines from MTH/Railking have a similar DCS set up.

    By: William Fuhrmann30-04-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9
    rating

    HO scale Mikado DCC locomotive/tender

    Order was received very quickly, well packed....looks to be very nice. This purchase is for a large Norman Rockwell village that is set up in September and comes down after the New Year. Hopefully this locomotive/tender will be powerful enough to comfortably pull the 2 vintage passengers cars through the village. I have not had a chance yet to try this set up out but plan to very soon....just to check and watch happily

    By: Chris Bithell10-04-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9.5
    rating

    Rear truck

    I emailed customer service after looking on their website and could not find what I needed. I told them the locomotive I needed a part for and got a link to the part in an email that was exactly what I needed. Quickly ordered on line and a few days later I had what I needed to get going again. That’s the kind of customer service you don’t find everywhere.
    Thanks Trainz

    By: Don Sanders04-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8.5
    rating

    Life Like 21258 HO PROTO 33" Metal Wheelsets (12)

    I ordered 4 Life Like Proto 33" metal Wheelsets from Trainz through E-Bay, I really liked the positive customer service feedback I received regarding my order and the prompt correction of the original order. I strongly recommend Trainz.com to anyone that's interested in purchasing model railroad equipment, I know I'll return to order additional items when I need some.

    By: Richard Senst27-04-2020
    Robert Swayze04-08-2020

    Very nice G-scale refer (Port Townsend Brewery). Excellent service, packaged great and shipped promptly. Will buy again from Trainz.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Excel Deluxe railroad modelers toolkit

    It was a "used" item, but still in gr8 shape! I replaced 2 missing items, drill bits & files, added more micro tools, and I am extremely happy with the purchase and price I got it for. Thanks Trainz for connecting me to that item. I have been wanting one for years. I have made your company, my store, for all train needs. Keep up the good work.

    By: Ernest Billiot10-08-2020
    Ernest Billiot10-08-2020

    Thanks for gr8 service.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    4 - wheel lightweight passenger car trucks Micro Trains N scale

    What can I say? Absolutely perfect!! Trainz. Com is aname sculpted in the rock!! In the great USA Tradition! Thank you Mr. Griggs!!

    By: gianfranco mattioli06-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    2ea Lionel flat cars

    Well packaged, excellent condition, good price, arrived on time.

    By: John Sanchez05-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Lionel Transformer car transfirmer

    Arrived timely and I was impressed on the great shape it was in.
    5 stars

    By: Brian Burke04-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Post War F3 loniel engine truck

    Positive. As describe works great. would but again

    By: Rick Toledo04-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Vallejo Model Color Acrylic Paints

    Unlike many other sellers currently, they were selling the set of 72 Model Color paints at a reasonable price. They also shipped extremely quickly, and packed the product well.

    Would definitely buy from them again, and am likely to buy more products from them in the future.

    By: David03-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    MTH Florida East Coast flat car with trailer

    I've ordered from Trainz in the past. As usual, an easy transaction, and the item showed up two days quicker than estimated. I'll continue to purchase from Trains.

    By: Jason Cheseborough02-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Coors Trailet

    As advertised, prompt shipping.

    By: Brian Olson02-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Two Kato engines

    Very positive better than advertised very satisfied

    By: Gerard Cureton 02-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    athearn

    alaska gp 40-2 +

    By: ted brummer02-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Write your own review about Trainz.com

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Trainz.com a trustworthy company?

    There is currently one customer review posted about Trainz.com. On average, they received a star-grading of 9.6/10, with 93% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Trainz.com offer?

    Trainz.com is mainly active in the Online Shop category, more specifically with Children & Baby, Sport & Outdoor.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Trainz.com website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!"